Wednesday, October 12, 2016

1975 Dolphins: The End Of A Dynasty

1974 was the end of an era for the Miami Dolphins.  Three straight Super Bowls (1971-1973) two resulting in victories qualified them as a bonafide dynasty.  The 1972 season gets the most attention because of their unprecedented 17-0 season, the only team to go undefeated in the modern era.  But they had arguably a better team in 1973, when they repeated as champions against the Minnesota Vikings.  Though they remained a power house through the rest of the decade, the 1974 season marked a turing point in team personnel which saw the defection of three of their stars to the new WFL league in 1975.  The loss to the Oakland Raiders in the Playoffs signified the end of the Dynasty.

This 1975-styled RetroCards set features that 1974 team and includes new cards of the 3 Dolphin defectors and a host of other key players and fan-favorites: Larry Csonka, Jim Kiick, Paul Warfield, Marlin Briscoe, Wayne Moore, Earl Morrall, Bob Heinz, Lloyd Mumphord, Don Strock, Benny Malone, Mike Kolen, Curtis Johnson, Marv Fleming, Donny Anderson, Nat Moore, a team card featuring Don Shula, and two '74 Highlight cards featuring the "Sea Of Hands" playoff game and WFL card showing Kiick, Warfield, and Csonka in their new Memphis Southmen uniforms.  Get yours now!

No comments:

Post a Comment